CAS Homepage
About Us

1. Our Client

Child Assessment Service (CAS) serves children who are under 12 years of age with developmental-behavioural problems or disorders. Children can be referred from the community physicians or psychologists, or directly from hospital (e.g. premature babies). Professional assessment and follow up services will be provided according to the need of children. For children with complicated medical conditions (e.g. children with physical impairment and acquired cognitive impairment), multidisciplinary team assessments are arranged in order to evaluate their problems, monitor their progress and provide educational and rehabilitation advices.

Common childhood developmental problems include:

2. Our Team

3. Our Assessment Service

4. Parent Support Activities

CAS provides the following support services for our clients and their families.

  • Developmental Training Programme for Parents
  • Interim Support: Parent Workshops and Information Days
    Parents are invited to attend workshops or information days catering for the need of their children. They can learn practical skills in parenting and training of their children at home.
  • Parent Resource Library
    CAS provides parents with information and resources on various developmental problems. There are parent resource libraries in all our centres.
  • Support to Parent Groups
    In order to empower parents to participate in advocacy work for their children with special needs, CAS helps to set up parent self-help groups, and support them through consultation and advice. CAS also develops partnerships with other organizations to help these children and their families.

5. Public and Professional Education

Public Education

Objectives:

1. To raise public awareness to the special needs of children with developmental problems.

2. To allow the public to understand the scope of service of CAS.

Professionals in CAS contribute articles to public media such as newspapers to promote societal awareness. We also participate in media production such as radio shows to share knowledge and update understanding in child development and developmental-behavioural problems. In addition, we have published some pamphlets and fact sheets for parents and picture books for children to heighten the public awareness.

Professional Education

Objectives:

1. To promote professional development in the field of Developmental and Behavioural Paediatrics.

2. To provide platforms for knowledge sharing between service partners.

CAS is the accredited training centre of the Hong Kong College of Paediatricians that conducts specialist training for General Paediatric trainees and Paediatric fellows who are interested to further their training in the subspecialty of developmental-behavioural paediatrics. In addition, CAS also offers clinical internship and attachment opportunities to other relevant professionals, such as clinical psychologists, speech therapists, audiologists, occupational therapists and nurses.

Professionals in CAS have regular presentations in various professional bodies or organizations, and give lectures to medical students or postgraduate students on regular basis.

6. Research and Publications

In order to provide high quality assessment service, CAS has to ensure that the entire assessment procedure, content and tools comply with international standards. Therefore, we also conduct scientific research and apply it to our clinical practice. Over the years, we have localised overseas assessment tools and collected data to build local norms. In recent years, our professional team has collaborated with local universities on research and development of assessment tools designed for local children.

With 40 years of provision of child assessment service in Hong Kong, we have accumulated large amount of data and information on developmental disabilities of local children. We conduct data analyses regularly in order to gain a better understanding of the clinical picture of these children. This enables us to provide better service for our clients.

In order to share with other professional colleagues the recent updates on various developmental disabilities and our research results, we publish the Child Assessment Service Epidemiology and Research Bulletin (CASER) regularly as well as other scientific publications. For public education, we have also published some pamphlets and fact sheets for parents and picture books for children.

7. Advocacy

CAS promotes, protects and ensures the health, welfare and rights of children with diverse needs through specialised clinical services and participation in education, advocacy, research and policy making.

Through engagement in public and professional education, we aim at enhancing understanding of developmental conditions and correcting related myths. We provide counselling and training activities to parents to promote knowledge and self-help skills, and supports parent self-help groups through consultation and advice. We uphold evidence based practice and are active in research to assure practice standards and contribute to knowledge and practice in the field. We work with partners in governmental and non-governmental organizations to promote programme integration and seamless service delivery, and participate in policy planning and deliberation.

Through holistic and timely support, clinical expertise and a multidisciplinary team that specialises in developmental behavioural paediatrics and paediatric rehabilitation, CAS is committed to helping children with special needs overcome developmental challenges, develop their full potential and lead fulfilled lives.

儿童体能智力测验服务主页
关于我们

一.服务对象

卫生署儿童体能智力测验服务的服务对象是12岁以下有发展障碍或行为问题的儿童。儿童可经专业人士 (如医生、心理学家) 或经医院直接转介 (例如: 早产儿)。我们会根据儿童的需要提供专业评估及所需的跟进服务。我们会为较复杂的个案 (例如患有脑麻痹或后天认知缺损的儿童) 安排多专业团队评估,监测其进展情况,并提供教育和复康建议。

常见的儿童发展问题包括:

二.评估组成员

三.服务介绍

四.家长支持服务

本服务为已登记的儿童及其家长提供多项支持服务:

  • 家长训练课程:儿童发展系列
  • 家长工作坊和信息日
    儿童经评估后,家长会获邀请参加相关的「家长工作坊」和「家长信息日」。这些活动能加深家长对个别发展障碍的认识; 透过直接、实用和有效的培训,家长可掌握管教及家居训练的技巧,从而协助子女克服困难。
  • 家长资源中心
    各儿童体能智力测验中心均设有家长资源中心,为家长提供有关各种儿童发展问题的资源和资料。
  • 支持家长组织
    本服务协助家长成立自助组织,为有特殊需要的儿童进行倡导工作。通过咨询,我们会为家长提供专业意见。我们亦会与其他组织合作,为有特殊需要的儿童及其家庭提供支持。

五.公众及专业教育

公众教育

目 的 :

  • 促进社会对有特殊需要的儿童的认识
  • 向公众介绍本服务

本服务通过不同的公共媒体 (例如报纸或电台) 发放信息,以促进公众人士对儿童发展及常见发展问题的认识。此外,我们出版了一系列的读物,包括适合家长阅读的小册子和资料单张,以及适合儿童阅读的图画书。

专业教育

目 的 :

  • 提高儿童体智及行为发展学科的专业水平
  • 为服务伙伴及业界提供分享经验的平台

本服务乃香港儿科专科学院认可的培训中心,为正接受儿科专科训练及已考取儿科专业资格而又有志从事「儿童体智及行为发展学科」的医生进行专科培训。

此外,本服务亦为相关专业同工(例如临床心理家、言语治疗师、听力学家及职业治疗师等) 提供临床实习及观察机会。

本服务的团队经常在专业团体和学会进行经验分享及专题演讲,亦定期为医学生或研究生提供教育讲座。

六.研究及出版

为保证评估服务的质素,本服务要求整个评估程序、内容及工具符合国际标准。因此,除了日常评估工作外,我们亦会进行科学研究,务求将硏究与临床工作配合。过往我们曾经将外国的评估工具本地化,并且收集数据建立本地常模。近年我们的一众专业同事与本地大学教授硏发及创制了为本地儿童而设的评估工具。

作为香港有四十年历史的儿童评估服务,我们累积了很多有关本地儿童发展障碍的数据和数据。通过定期的数据分析,我们更能掌握常见发展障碍的病征,有助我们为儿童安排更适切的服务。

我们定期出版期刋,CASER, 及发布硏究结果 , 与业内同工分享有关发展障碍的文献综述及最新信息。 此外,亦有为公众教育而出版的资料单张、小册子及适合儿童阅读的图画书。

七.倡导

本服务提供优质综合专业评估服务,并通过参与教育、倡导、研究和制订政策,去促进、维护及保障有特殊需要儿童的健康、福祉和权利。

我们致力参与公众及专业教育,以促进公众及同业对儿童发展问题的了解,并减少公众的误解。我们为家长提供咨询和培训活动,以提升他们的知识和自助技能,并支持家长自助组织。我们提倡以科研实证为本的专业服务,并积极进行研究工作,与业界分享知识及确保专业服务水平。我们与政府和非政府机构的合作伙伴一同推动方案整合及流畅服务,并参与政策规划和审议。

我们作为儿童复康的专业团队,致力提供优质专业评估及支持服务,帮助有特殊需要的儿童克服发展挑战,发挥潜力,活出充实人生。