CAS Homepage
Health Information

Hearing ImpairmentHearing Impairment


The normal hearing threshold is -10 to 25 decibels. Hearing Impairment (HI) is defined when an ear can only receive sound of 26 decibels or more. HI can be divided into five levels of severity: mild, moderate, moderately severe, severe and profound. HI is considered ‘significant’ when the degree of impairment is moderate grade or worse in the better ear.

The nature of HI can be conductive, sensorineural or mixed. Conductive HI is caused by problems in the conduction of sounds in the outer and/or middle ear, such as earwax occlusion and middle ear effusion. Sensorineural HI involves impairment found in the inner ear and/or auditory nerves, whereas mixed HI includes both conductive and sensorineural components. Management plans for HI vary from person to person, depending on the severity and nature of the problem.

Auditory function:

The impact of HI follows the degree of impairment. Children with mild HI demonstrate difficulty perceiving faint sound and understanding soft-spoken speech. Children with moderate HI demonstrate understanding of speech at 3-5 feet distance but they have difficulty in perceiving conversation in a noisy environment, while those with severe HI can only understand speech at 1 foot from the ear with poor speech sound discrimination. Children with profound HI generally show lack of response to environmental sound and they cannot rely on audition as primary modality of communication.

Language development:

HI will affect the different stages of language development. Language development of these children will depend on the severity and the onset time of the impairment. The following descriptions are mainly describing the language development of children whose HI is at a significant level with the onset at a pre-verbal stage:

  • Pre-verbal stage
    Most normal-hearing children typically start to have cooing at around 2 to 3 months old. At around 6 months old, most of them will have early consonant and vowel combinations such as “baba” and “mama”. The pre-verbal development of children with HI usually parallels with their normal-hearing counterparts at these stages. However, because of lack of auditory feedback, these verbal outputs will gradually decrease soon afterwards.
  • Single-word stage
    Most normal-hearing children will have their first words at around 1 year old. Their vocabulary repertoire will then improve in a very rapid pace. Children with HI however will have a significantly slower rate in their acquisition of vocabulary. They have more difficulty in acquiring abstract vocabularies, such as those describing time and mood. It is also believed that children with HI will have more difficulty in comprehending words that have multiple meanings.
  • 2-word stage / Grammatical acquisition
    Most normal-hearing children will produce 2-word combinations such as “eat bread”, “play cars” at around 2 years old. Depending upon the severity of their impairment, children with HI would master 2-word combinations at a later age. Research showed that the milestones of language development of hearing impaired children parallel those of their hearing counterparts but at a slower pace. They have more difficulties with complex grammatical structures. In the English language, since children with HI may have difficulties hearing final sounds of words such as ‘s’ or ‘ed’, they often have difficulty acquiring the meaning and usage of these grammatical markers.
  • Pronunciation
    Hearing impairment will affect the speech perception abilities of children and thereby greatly affecting their phonological development. Those children with high frequency HI will have difficulties acquiring phonemes such as ‘s’ and ‘f’. Some will also have difficulties controlling their intonations or voice.

Cognitive development:

HI itself does not hinder cognitive development but communication and language development will be affected. The lack of a solid first language (sign or spoken) and of interactive learning experience will affect acquisition of information and knowledge. These children may as a result fail to develop their full potentials.

Literacy:

Many studies have shown that children with HI are at risk of difficulties in literacy development. In addition to the delay in the growth of vocabulary, grammar and sentence structures, children with severe HI do not have solid knowledge of the sounds of words, and hence unable to “read out the words” in their brains. Reading and comprehension will therefore be more difficult.

Psychosocial development:

Because of their difficulties, children with HI may limit their communication and interactions with others, thus hampering the relationship with their caregivers and friends. Older children often have emotional or behavioral problems due to ineffective communication with peers and low self-esteem.

Motor development:

Motor coordination problems are noted in children with HI. There may be easy loss of balance, and frequent falls, hindering their functioning in the daily life. The problem is often more obvious in a dark environment.

International data shows that the prevalence of congenital HI varies from 1-2 per 1000 newborn infants. In Hong Kong, for every 1000 children under the age of 15 years, 1.3 was registered with significant HI in the Central Registry for Rehabilitation in 2014. In Child Assessment Service (CAS) of Department of Health (DH), there are around 70-80 children diagnosed with significant HI every year.

Genetic causes account for roughly 50-60% of children with HI but most cases are autosomal recessive. These include gene mutations, chromosomal abnormalities and genetic syndromes. Studies found that many genes are related to HI, with some causing mild HI and others significant HI. Common genetic mutation testing is provided by the Clinical Genetic Service of DH.

Meanwhile, many non-genetic factors can also lead to HI. Sensorineural HI may result from multiple causes, including intrauterine infections or certain drugs taken by the pregnant mother, adverse events during delivery, brain and ear infections, as well as trauma or tumors affecting related structures during infancy and childhood. Conductive hearing loss may result from infection or obstruction of the ear canal and middle ear such as impacted ear wax and secretory otitis media.

Some developmental conditions commonly seen in children may be confused with HI. These include autism spectrum disorder, severe language delay, developmental delay or intellectual disability and severe behavioral disorders.

Depending largely on the cause of the HI, there may also be developmental delay, intellectual disability, emotional and behavioral problem, cerebral palsy or visual impairment in respective children with HI. HI may also be part of the features of congenital syndromes in which hearing is affected.

Auditory training:

Residual hearing should be optimized through early amplification, provisions of favorable acoustic environment and appropriate training. Effective comprehensive habilitation programs will be able to enhance these children’s auditory awareness and speech discrimination ability, foster the development of speech and language, and facilitate their intellectual and social development.

Language and communication training:

The language development of children is almost always being affected by their HI to different degrees. Therefore, these children need to receive training on their speech, language and communication. The earlier the commencement of training, the better will be the outcome. However, the ultimate progress will also depend on other factors including the degree of hearing impairment, how long it took for hearing aids or cochlear implants to be effectively fitted, the learning abilities of the child, motivation of the parents, and so on.
Some children with HI may not attain a satisfactory level of verbal language development even though they have been fitted with hearing aids or cochlear implant. Therefore, in these cases, the therapists might need to consider other modes of communication besides the verbal one. In Hong Kong, most of the aural rehabilitation programs use total communication as the basic concept. Recently, the concept of sign-oral language bilingualism has also been put into the rehabilitation programs. Auditory-verbal therapy and the cued-speech method are also widely used in western countries. Below are some descriptions of the aforesaid rehabilitation methods:

  • Total communication approach
    This approach focuses on the training of residual hearing, sound discrimination and identification, speech perception, verbal comprehension and expression in daily communication. It also advocates the use of sign and lip-reading to facilitate communication and learning. Total communication encourages the use of all modes namely speech, signs, lip-reading and writing to facilitate communication.
  • Sign-oral language bilingual approach
    This approach advocates for children with HI to learn both sign and oral languages as modes for communication in order to maximize language development. This is especially relevant during early life as language development has a critical period and hearing may still be limited. This bilingual approach will support effective development of language, concepts and social skills. It is believed that learning sign language as the first language of these children will not hinder future oral language development as was thought by many. In contrast, sign language will enhance overall language abilities and will support the development of oral and written languages. Some kindergartens, primary and secondary schools in Hong Kong employ this rehabilitation approach in their curriculum. Teachers will use sign and oral languages simultaneously during teaching.
  • Auditory-verbal therapy
    Most parents of children with HI have normal hearing, and with advances in technology, hearing aids and cochlear implants are often effective in helping these children acquire reasonable hearing levels. Most parents therefore prefer to focus on training verbal language as the main mode of communication for their children. Auditory-verbal therapy promotes the concept of fully utilizing the residual hearing and learning verbal language as the only mode of communication. This training does not encourage use of lip-reading. Parents are trained to provide environmental accommodations, to promote the awareness of children to auditory stimuli in daily activities, and to enhance their verbal comprehension and expression.

Language and communication training:

Developing a fluent first language at an early age will facilitate the child’s development of cognition and written language. When reading, children need to use existing knowledge and a "top down" approach to understand the content. At the same time, children may need to use the "bottom up" approach through reading of words and sentences to understand the article and learn new concepts. In addition, we can enhance children's reading motivation through interesting learning activities, reading different kinds of books, and use of multi-sensory methods to help word learning, promote grammar learning and enrich their background knowledge.

Medical treatment:

Treatment of the underlying cause is possible in some conditions (e.g. earwax removal, antibiotics for otitis media, grommet insertion for middle ear effusion). Genetic counselling or related medical treatment can be provided for genetic and syndromal conditions.

Hearing aids (HA) and assistive listening devices (ALD):

With overwhelming research evidence demonstrating the benefit of early aid fitting on language development, children with HI should be fitted with hearing aids as early as possible. Binaural use of hearing aid is encouraged for more effective receiving of sound signals and sound localization. However, even with advanced hearing aids, hearing cannot be fully restored. Children must receive appropriate auditory training in order to enhance the hearing and language development. In noisy environments, wireless frequency modulation (FM) systems or other assistive listening devices may be used together with hearing aids to reduce the impact of noise.

Cochlear implant (CI) and auditory brainstem implant (ABI):

For children with severe to profound hearing loss who show limited or no benefit from hearing aids, cochlear implantation (CI) may be considered. A cochlear implant is an electronic device that is implanted surgically, allowing the recipient to receive auditory information by electrical stimulation of the cochlear portion of the ear. Another audiological intervention, auditory brainstem implant (ABI), is used to treat total deafness in both ears which cannot be improved by hearing aids or cochlear implants. The external receivers of CI and ABI are similar, but in ABI the internal device is connected to the brainstem and directly stimulates the cochlear nucleus. Both CI and ABI require intensive auditory, speech and language rehabilitation and training after implantation.

Psychosocial support for parents and children:

Professional advice, counseling and psychological support must be provided to parents of children with HI. Their compliance with the child’s use of hearing aids, provision of adequate language stimuli and participation in parent support groups should be encouraged. Advice on school accommodations such as classroom seating arrangement and attendance at various medical reviews should be given.

Early identification:

Family Health Service from DH and neonatal units from the Hospital Authority(HA) provide universal newborn hearing screening programs using the Distortion Product Otoacoustic Emission or Automated Auditory Brainstem Response. Student Health Service (SHS) also provides hearing screening for Primary 1 to Form 7 students who join their voluntary annual health check program.

Diagnostic services:

Ear, Nose and Throat (ENT) Departments of HA, and Audiological services of CAS and SHS of DH provide diagnostic assessment for children with HI.

Medical and surgical treatment and assistive devices:

HA offers medical and surgical interventions for children with HI. Since 1995, three cochlear implantation centres have been established including at Queen Mary Hospital, Prince of Wales Hospital and Queen Elizabeth Hospital. In current practice, the age for paediatric cochlear implantation is around 1 year old. Hearing aids and assistive listening devices can be obtained through the Education Bureau (EDB) or the private sector. Auditory and speech training is available in speech therapy clinics under HA, EDB, non-governmental organizations and the private sector.

Preschool training:

In Hong Kong, there are early educational training centres and two special child care centres to provide pre-school habilitation training for children with HI and their parents. They provide intensive auditory and speech training, and children are encouraged to practice their speech and communication skills into daily experience through various activities. Integrated programmes in child care centres as well as special child care centres for children with disabilities are also provided with additional resources to help children with HI.

Special school for hearing impairment:

Lutheran School for the Deaf is the only special school for hearing-impaired school-aged children in Hong Kong today. Mainstream curriculum is implemented in this school with special educational support from teachers. Total communication method is applied with emphasis on a balanced development in spoken, sign and written language. There are also continual auditory and speech training at the school.
In recent years, there has been a shift in enrolment from special schools to mainstream schools for children with HI. Mainstream schools provide varying degrees of special education support to students with HI. These include outreach services by special school or through special funding assigned to these mainstream schools.

Sign bilingualism and co-enrolment in deaf education programme:

The use of sign language together with oral language is believed to enable the children with severe HI to be better able to attain their full cognitive, linguistic and social potentials.
Since 2006 the Centre for Sign Linguistics and Deaf Studies in the Chinese University of Hong Kong has offered “Sign Bilingualism and Co-enrollment in Deaf Education Programme” which promotes simultaneous learning sign language and oral language. Besides “Sign language classes for babies”, the Centre provides “Sign bilingual Chinese reading classes” and “Parents signing classes”. The Centre partners with kindergartens, primary and secondary schools to deliver this educational programme in the school setting.

Parent support and training:

Parent resource centres, support groups and parent training programmes are organized by a wide variety of institutions including government and non-governmental organisations, including The Hong Kong Society for the Deaf, HA cochlear implant centres, special schools and CAS of DH.

Prognosis is dependent on the degree of HI, age of onset and diagnosis, age at which amplification is introduced, developmental characteristics of the child, psychosocial factors and educational experience. Early diagnosis and timely intervention are key factors for favorable outcome.

  • Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (EHDI) (2001). American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP).
  • Joint Committee on Infant Hearing (2000). Year 2000 position statement: principles and guidelines for early hearing detection and intervention programs. Pediatrics, 106(4), 798-817.
  • Joint Committee on Infant Hearing (2007). Year 2007 position statement: principles and guidelines for early hearing detection and intervention programs. Pediatrics, 120(4), 898-921.

儿童体能智力测验服务主页
健康资讯

Hearing Impairment弱听

一般正常的听觉阈限为-一般正常的听觉阈限为-10至25分贝。假如耳朵只可接收到26分贝或以上的音量便会界定为弱听。弱听可按其程度分为五个不同的级别:轻度、中度、中重度、重度及极度弱听。假若听力较佳的耳朵,其弱听程度为中度或以上,则会界定为显著弱听。

弱听可按其成因分为「传导性」、「感音神经性」及「混合性」。传导性弱听是外耳道或中耳腔受损所引起;感音神经性弱听则为耳蜗或听觉神经受损导致;而混合性弱听则两者兼备。弱听可以是单耳或双耳的。弱听的严重程度及成因因人而异,治疗方法也有不同。

听觉:

弱听对儿童的影响因弱听的程度和性质而不同。轻度弱听的儿童会难以察觉微弱的声音和说话;中度弱听的儿童虽然可以聆听3至5英尺距离内的日常对话,但是在嘈杂的环境中会出现聆听困难;重度弱听的儿童只能接收1英尺内的声音,对于说话和其他声音亦难以分辨;而极度弱听的儿童一般对环境声音没有反应,不能依靠听觉作为主要的沟通方式。

语言:

弱听会影响儿童在不同阶段的语言发展,患有弱听的儿童能否运用口语沟通,要视乎弱听何时开始及其严重程度。以下的描述是针对一些弱听程度比较严重,及在婴孩阶段、口语尚未开始发展时所发病的情况:

  • 牙牙学语阶段
    一般健听的儿童在二至三个月大会开始有“咕咕”的发声,到大约六个月大便会有早期的子音和母音的组合如“baba” “mama”。患有弱听的儿童在这些早期的语言发展阶段,大多数会与健听儿童的发展相若。但由于听觉问题,他们未能清晰地听到自己的发声,所以儿童多数会在发出这些声音后不久便会停止发出这些音节。
  • 单字阶段
    一般健听的儿童大约一岁多开始说单字,然后单字的数量会迅速增加。患有弱听的儿童在学习词汇的速度则明显较慢。他们在掌握一些较抽象的词语,例如表达时间及情绪的字眼亦会较弱。对于一些有多重意思的词语亦会较难理解。
  • 词语组合∕语法学习
    一般健听的儿童会在大约两岁开始说两个词语的组合,例如「食包」、「玩车车」。至于患有弱听的儿童,视乎其弱听的程度,他们一般都会较迟才开始出现词语的组合。研究显示,患有弱听的儿童,他们在语法方面的发展里程与健听儿童相若,但其发展速度则较缓慢。他们在掌握一些复杂的语句亦会较为困难。在英文方面,由于弱听的问题,令他们难以听到“s”或“ed”等尾音,因此他们亦较难掌握这些音节的意思和用法。
  • 发音
    由于弱听会影响接收及分析声音的能力,患有弱听儿童的语音发展大多会受明显影响。他们对于一些较高频律的语音,例如“s”或“f”等通常会较难掌握,亦有些会在声调和声线的控制方面出现困难。

认知发展:

患有弱听的儿童认知能力并不一定有问题。然而,弱听会影响儿童的语言沟通及发展。欠缺稳固的第一语言基础(手语或口语)及互动学习经验,会令儿童难以吸收外界的知识,并窒碍其思考能力的发展,因而未能尽展潜能。

阅读能力:

很多研究指出,患有弱听的儿童比健听儿童的阅读能力逊色。在听力受损的情况下,儿童早期的语音发展、后期的词汇及语法发展往往被延误。他们的词汇一般较为贫乏、句子简单、句式单一。在没有声音的情况下,儿童无法在脑中把字句「读出声音来」,令阅读及理解文字变得十分困难。在香港,儿童一般在已学习的广东话词汇及语法的基础上学习汉语书面语。而患有弱听的儿童在欠缺流畅第一语言的情况下去学习汉语书面语会较为困难。

社交及行为发展:

弱听令儿童较少与人作语言沟通或交流,因此妨碍他们与其照顾者及朋辈建立关系。当儿童渐渐长大时,由于未能有效地与朋辈沟通,加上自我形象低落,亦可能出现行为及情绪问题。

体能:

患有重度至极度弱听的儿童可能会有平衡问题。在日常生活中,走路、跑步、或在不平坦的路上,会较容易跌倒;站立排队时会给人站不定、周身郁的感觉;有些更会从座椅上无故跌落地上。这些情况在黑暗的环境下会更为严重。

国际资料显示,每1000名初生婴儿中,就有1至2名出现显著的弱听问题。香港方面,根据「康复服务中央档案室」2014年的资料显示,每1000名15岁以下的儿童就有1.3名登记患有显著的弱听问题。

另外,卫生署辖下儿童体能智力测验服务的资料显示,每年约有70至80名显著弱听的新症个案。

约百分之五十至六十的弱听个案与遗传因素有关,包括基因突变、染色体異常,或其他遗传性疾病等。研究显示许多基因与弱听有关,大多数个案是隐性基因遗传。在香港,卫生署的医学遗传科可提供一些常见的基因突变测试。

非遗传因素方面,由怀孕到儿童成长期间,许多因素均可能影响听觉系统,例如怀孕时胎儿受到感染、生产过程缺氧、严重新生婴儿黄疸症、脑膜炎、脑创伤等。这些情况会导致耳蜗或听觉神经受损,令儿童出现「感音神经性弱听」。另外,外耳道或中耳腔受到感染或阻塞,例如严重的耳垢问题或分泌性中耳炎引致中耳闭塞则会导致「传导性弱听」。

一些常见的发展障碍,其表征可能与弱听相似。例如自闭症谱系障碍、严重语言发展障碍、发展迟缓、智力障碍及严重的行为问题,因此在诊断时必须考虑上述的情况。

患有弱听的儿童可能同时兼患发展迟缓或智力障碍、情绪行为问题、脑麻痹、视障问题等。而弱听也可能是不同种类的先天性综合症的一部分。

听觉训练:

听觉训练旨在透过辅助仪器、安静的聆听环境及特别设计的课程,使儿童尽量善用其剩余听力,以强化他们的听觉意识。透过日常生活的训练及教育计划,可帮助儿童更有效地辨别声音、促进语言发展、加强认知及社交能力。

语言及沟通训练:

弱听会影响儿童的口语发展,因此患有弱听的儿童一般都需要接受语言及沟通训练。一般来说,儿童愈早开始接受训练,效果愈显著。但是,最终的成效亦取决于儿童听力受损的程度、何时开始配戴助听器或接受人工耳蜗移植、儿童的学习能力及家长的参与程度等因素。
有些儿童可能在配戴助听器后口语发展仍不理想。所以,除了口语训练外,治疗师亦会考虑使用其他沟通模式帮助儿童沟通。现时在香港,听觉复康大多会采用综合沟通法作为复康的基本理念,但近年亦会应用手口语双语发展这个概念。此外,听觉口语法及口手标音法在一些西方国家都有被应用。以下是针对弱听儿童复康训练的方法:

  • 综合沟通法
    这个理念是让儿童学习聆听、分辨声音、口语发音、口语理解及口语表达;但亦会同时学习手语及唇读帮助沟通及学习。综合沟通法会鼓励弱听儿童在沟通时同时使用口语、手语、唇读及书写。
  • 手口语双语发展
    这个理念是弱听儿童应该同时学习运用手语及口语作沟通之用。他们可通过同时学习及运用手语和口语,来充分发展其认知、语言和社交能力。研究显示,弱听儿童透过手语学习获得第一语言,不但没有阻碍他们的口语能力的发展,反而能促进他们的口语和语文能力。由于语言发展有关键时期,手口语双语运用在儿童早期发展,听力仍然有限时尤其重要。香港有幼稚园、小学及中学以这个理念训练弱听儿童。在上课时,老师会同时使用口语及手语帮助儿童学习。
  • 听觉口语法
    大部分弱听儿童的家长都是健听的;另外,随着科技的进步,助听器或人工耳蜗一般都可以很有效地帮助提升弱听儿童的听力。因此,大部分家长都会希望训练其孩子学习口语作为沟通的主要途径。听觉口语法的基本理念是弱听儿童可以练习利用剩余听力学习口语作为唯一的沟通方法。这个训练方法不会鼓励学习唇读。家长亦需要学习如何调较环境因素,鼓励弱听儿童从留意日常的声音及听觉刺激去学习口语理解及表达。

学习方面的对策:

尽早让儿童发展流畅的第一语言,能帮助儿童建立灵活的思考能力,投入互动学习和社交沟通,并能促进入学后书面语的发展(包括阅读理解及写作)。阅读时,学童需要利用跟题目有关的已有知识,从「上而下」去理解内容。同时,透过对字、词、句等书面语法的认识,从「下而上」去理解文章并学习新的概念。另外,透过有趣的学习活动提升儿童的阅读动机、阅读不同的图书系列、运用多感官方法辅助字词学习,能促进语法学习并丰富背景知识,并有效提升儿童的阅读能力。

医药治疗:

可针对导致弱听的不同原因而进行相关治疗,例如清除耳垢、使用抗生素治疗中耳炎、利用导管清除中耳积液等。至于因遗传或先天性综合症导致的弱听,则需接受遗传辅导服务及相关的医药治疗。

助听器及其他辅助仪器:

很多科学文献同时指出,愈早使用助听仪器,愈有利弱听儿童的语言发展;而双耳配戴助听器比单耳配戴更为有效地接收外界声音。因此患有弱听的儿童应尽早考虑配戴合适的助听仪器。事实上即使有了先进的助听器,亦不能完全恢复儿童的听力,儿童必须接受相关的听觉训练才能有效地增强听觉及语言发展。在嘈杂环境下要更理想地接收声源,可透过无线调频系统配合助听器同时使用,以减低噪音之影响。

人工耳蜗及听性脑干植入:

假若患者的感音神经性弱听相当严重,而配戴助听器的效果不理想,则可考虑接受人工耳蜗手术。此手术将外置的声音接收及处理器,連接植入于内耳的电子装置,直接刺激听觉神经以接收声音。若人工耳蜗效果亦不理想,或患者缺乏耳蜗,则可考虑接受听性脑干植入手术。听性脑干植入的外置仪器与人工耳蜗的相若,不同的是内里的电子装置连接于脑干,直接刺激脑干内的耳蜗核子。弱听儿童接受人工耳蜗或脑干植入手术后,同样需要接受有关听觉及语言的复康训练。

为家长及孩子提供辅导:

在诊断时为家长提供心理辅导,并教导他们与儿童沟通的技巧相当重要。此外,透过鼓励儿童多用助听器、提供语言刺激、参加家长支援小组、课室座位安排、定期覆诊检查听力等,均可有效帮助弱听的儿童。

及早识别:

医院管理局的初生婴儿部透过自动听性脑干反应测试,为全港初生婴儿进行普及听力检查计划。而卫生署辖下家庭健康服务也可透过使用耳声发射测试为婴儿检查听力。至于卫生署的学生健康服务,则为自愿參加健康检查的中小学生提供听力测试。

诊断服务:

医院管理局的耳鼻喉专科、卫生署辖下儿童体能智力测验服务及学生健康服务均有提供弱听诊断服务。

医药治疗及辅助仪器:

医院管理局会为弱听儿童提供手术及医药治疗。自1995年起,三间人工耳蜗内植中心相继成立,它们分别设于玛丽医院、威尔斯亲王医院及伊利沙伯医院。现时弱听儿童一般于一岁便可接受人工耳蜗手术。另外,本港医院、教育局、非政府机构及私人机构,亦有提供语言训练、听觉训练或是手语双语发展服务。至于助听器及其他辅助仪器,则可于教育局或私家诊所选配。

学前训练:

本港有特殊幼儿中心和早期教育及训练中心,专为六岁以下患有明显弱听的儿童提供学前训练计划。教师会透过不同的学习情境,生活化的活动,运用听觉、口语、手语帮助幼儿在自然的环境中学习。家长可以透过参与教学的过程中获得指导,把儿童的学习目标融入于日常的生活经验当中。另外,其他特殊幼儿中心或幼儿中心兼收弱能儿童计划亦会为弱听的儿童提供认知、体能、社交及情绪控制等全面的训练。

特殊学校:

本港有专为弱听学童而设的特殊学校,老师受过特殊教育的专业训练,会因应学生的能力和需要调适课程。上课时,老师会采用综合沟通法以协助弱听学童在最少障碍的环境中学习,使其口语、手语及书面语三方面都得到均衡发展,在学校中亦有持续的听觉及语言训练,帮助他们更容易融入健听人士的世界。
近年趋势显示,越来越多患有弱听的儿童入读主流学校。透过政府给予主流学校的额外拨款及教育支援措施,或由特殊学校所提供的听障学生增强支援服务,帮助弱听学童达到更佳的学习效果。

手语双语共融教育计划:

同时学习及运用手语和口语,对于有严重弱听的儿童来说,相信能让他们充分发展认知、语言和社交潜能。
在本港,香港中文大学手语及聋人硏究中心自2006年起推行手语口语并行的「手语双语共融教育计划」。至今除了设有婴儿手语班、手语双语中文阅读班、家长手语班外,更于幼稚园、小学及中学推行手语双语共融教育计划。

家长支援及训练:

香港聋人福利促进会、人工耳蜗内植中心、特殊学校及卫生署的儿童体能智力测验服务等多个政府及非政府机构,均设有家长资源中心、支援小组及家长培训计划,为患有弱听人士的家庭提供协助。

综合来说,弱听儿童的发展,取决于多方面的因素,包括弱听的性质与程度、发病及确诊年龄、开始使用听力辅助仪器的年龄、个别儿童的发展特征、心理社交状况,以及所接受的教育及训练等。及早诊断和适当的治疗及训练是达致理想效果的重要因素。

  • Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (EHDI) (2001). American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP).
  • Joint Committee on Infant Hearing (2000). Year 2000 position statement: principles and guidelines for early hearing detection and intervention programs. Pediatrics, 106(4), 798-817.
  • Joint Committee on Infant Hearing (2007). Year 2007 position statement: principles and guidelines for early hearing detection and intervention programs. Pediatrics, 120(4), 898-921.