CAS Homepage
Health Information

Developmental Coordination DisorderDevelopmental Coordination Disorder


Developmental Coordination Disorder (DCD) is a motor disorder with marked impairment in motor coordination that is considered to be inappropriate for their age and opportunity for skills learning. The motor skills deficits are not better explained by intellectual disability, other behavioural or sensory disorders, and are not a result of neurological conditions which affect movement. This leads to significant interference with their academic achievement and/or activities of daily living including self-care and leisure.

Historically, DCD has also been referred to as congenital maladroitness, developmental dyspraxia, clumsy child syndrome, developmental apraxia and agnosia, agnostic ataxia or minimal brain dysfunction / minimal cerebral palsy. In the 1994 international consensus meeting in London, Ontario, the term “DCD” was accepted as the most appropriate term to use.

The symptoms of DCD are usually noticed between 5 to 11 years old. In Hong Kong, the peak age for diagnosis was in early primary school years. Some of these children have problems predominantly in gross motor coordination, others predominantly in fine motor coordination, while the rest are affected in both areas.

Children may first appear as delayed in learning to climb stairs, feed themselves and in playing. Mastery of self-care tasks such as dressing and using utensils are also delayed. Later on, problems with academic tasks may appear, including handwriting and copying tasks, and participation in physical education (especially gymnastics) classes.

DCD affects the children’s daily functioning and can have significant long-term effects on academic, psychosocial and vocational outcomes. Children with DCD are often misunderstood, teased or bullied. Many have low self-esteem, high levels of anxiety and behavioral problems. Avoidance or lack of physical activities or hobbies can lead to obesity and poor physical fitness.

Internationally, it has been suggested that between 5 to 6 percent of 5 to 11-year-old children have DCD, with more cases in boys than girls.

In Hong Kong, there are no formal statistics available for DCD. For cases diagnosed to have DCD in Child Assessment Service in Year 2016, more boys than girls were found to be affected, with a ratio of about 3-4 to 1.

The exact cause of DCD has yet to be determined. There is an increased incidence of DCD in premature and low-birth-weight children, and family histories of the condition suggest a possible genetic link. No specific brain lesion has been identified.

There is continuing debate on the suggested mechanisms for DCD. These include defects in the processing of visual perceptual information, joint sensation, and integration of different sensory modalities etc., which affect the ability to make efficient movements and motoric adjustments. Abnormalities in the planning and execution of movements such as those related to timing, muscle force and balance have also been proposed.

20-50% of children with DCD may have other associated problems such as attention deficit /hyperactivity disorder, autism spectrum disorder, language disorder or dyslexia.

Up to this day there is no medical treatment for DCD. Specific management of DCD involves training in two aspects. The first is focused on remediating the children’s underlying deficits (such as sense of balance) with the expectation of subsequent improvement in motor performance. The second is to train task-specific skills through breaking down of activities (such as dressing and skipping) into small steps to be practiced separately, before the complete task is performed.

It is difficult to predict long-term outcome based on the initial presentation of the condition. Although severe cases may persist into adulthood, it is possible for mild problems to improve with time, with some children catching up with age-appropriate motor performance after training. However for other children, early childhood problems with play and self-care may develop into problems with learning, social skills, employment and social participation. These may in turn affect their self-esteem, performance in educational activities and activities of daily living.

儿童体能智力测验服务主页
健康资讯

动作协调障碍动作协调障碍

动作协调障碍是指儿童在动作协调上出现问题。患者的动作协调发展与其年龄及智能发展不相符,但这并非由任何行为、感官或神经系统的问题所引致。动作协调障碍严重影响儿童的学习表现及日常生活,包括个人自理及消闲活动方面。

动作协调障碍过往被视为先天性迟钝、笨拙儿童、运动功能失调或轻微脑损伤。1994年在加拿大的国际会议上,一致通过“Developmental Coordination Disorder”为最合适的名称(现译作「动作协调障碍」),时至今天仍被沿用。

动作协调障碍的征狀通常在儿童5至11岁期间开始被察觉。在香港,初小阶段为诊断的高峯期。部分儿童可能被发现在大肌肉或小肌肉方面出现问题,亦有部分儿童在两方面均出现困难。

患有动作协调障碍的儿童在幼年时可能需要较长时间学习上落樓梯、进食和玩耍,也会比同龄的孩子较迟才掌握自理的技巧,例如穿衣及使用餐具等。其后在课堂学习方面,问题会越见明显,尤其于抄写能力和参与体育课时的活动能力方面。

动作协调障碍的问题不但妨碍儿童的日常活动,而且对其学习、社交、情绪和就业方面均会构成长远的影响。患有动作协调障碍的儿童经常被人误解、取笑或欺负,不少儿童因而会感到自卑、焦虑或出现行为问题。他们或会逃避参加与体能有关的活动,因而导致身体肥胖或体适能欠佳。

外国资料显示,每100名5至11岁儿童当中,约有5至6人患有动作协调障碍,而男童的发病率较女童为高。

本港方面,根据卫生署辖下儿童体能智力测验服务的资料,在2016 年动作协调障碍的确诊新症中,男女比例约为3至4比1。不过,本港有关动作协调障碍的确实普遍率资料,仍有待进一步研究。

动作协调障碍的确实成因尚未有定論,至今仍未发现任何脑部异常与此病症有直接关系。根据临床经验,早产及出生体重过低的儿童有较大机会患有动作协调障碍。另一方面,部分患者的家属亦有同样征狀,此障碍可能涉及遗传因素。

另一些論点则认为,患者或因在视觉感知、关节感觉及感觉统合等方面出现困难,因而影响其身体动作和协调能力。亦有說法指患者可能在计划或执行动作时出现问题,例如玩球类活动时的时间配合、书写时的力度控制和游戏时的身体平衡等。

在患有动作协调障碍的儿童当中,有百分之二十至五十兼患有其他病症,例如专注力不足∕过度活跃症、自闭症谱系障碍、语言障碍或讀写障碍等。

现阶段尚未有药物治疗动作协调障碍。而训练方法大致可分为以下兩大范畴:

  1. 针对儿童感官接收的缺陷进行训练(例如平衡感觉),以改善他们的动作表现;
  2. 教授活动的技巧(例如穿衣、跳绳),将活动细分为简单的步骤,逐一教授及练习,然后将每个小步骤連贯起來以完成整个活动。

此外,为儿童、家长及教师提供有关动作协调障碍的教育是相当重要的。透过各界对此障碍的认識,儿童可尽早接受治疗,家长及教师亦可在家居和学校的日常生活中作出适当的配合及调适。

儿童长大后的情况较难根据最初的征狀來推断。有些问题较严重的儿童,其征狀可能会延续至成人阶段;至于较轻微的个案,问题可能会随时间而改善。部分儿童在接受训练后,其动作表现可能会提升至符合其年龄的水平。不过,随着儿童成长,在幼儿阶段时有关自理和活动方面的问题,后期或会发展为学习、就业及社交等问题,因而影响到患者的自尊心、学习和工作上的表现及日常生活。

  • American Psychiatric Association, APA (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed.). Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Association.
  • Blank, R., Smits-Engelsman, B., Polatajko, H., et al. (2012). European Academy for Childhood Disability. European Academy for Childhood Disability (EACD): recommendations on the definition, diagnosis and intervention of developmental coordination disorder (long version). Developmental Medicine & Child Neurology, 54, 54-93.
  • Cairney, J. (2015). Developmental Coordination Disorder and its Consequences. Toronto: University of Toronto Press.