CAS Homepage
Health Information

Visual ImpairmentVisual Impairment

Visual impairment (VI) refers to a functional loss of vision. Significant VI refers to loss of visual acuity (VA) and/or loss of visual field that makes it difficult or impossible for people affected to complete daily tasks without specialized adaptations. VI is usually classified according to the VA of the better eye and to visual field defects. Different definitions and classifications have been used in different contexts. In Hong Kong, according to Rehabilitation Programme Plan (2007), VI is defined as follows:

  1. Total blindness: persons with no visual function, i.e. no light perception.
  2. Low vision (divided into three levels according to the VA of the better eye with correcting glasses):
    • Severe low vision ― persons with VA of 6/120 or worse and persons with constricted visual field in which the widest field diameter subtends an angular subtense of 20 degrees or less, irrespective of the VA;
    • Moderate low vision ― persons with VA from 6/60 to better than 6/120;
    • Mild low vision ― persons with VA from 6/18 to better than 6/60.

(Remarks: VA of 6/60 means that the subject can only see at 6 metres what a normal sighted person can see at 60 metres.)

Children with VI have problems of reduced visual acuity for near and distant objects. They may not see others’ faces and bodies clearly. They show poor eye contact, lack of facial expression and body language. Because of poor vision, they may not show interest for even big and moving toys which are placed close to their eyes and they will look at the objects at a very close distance. On the other hand, they show different responses to bright light. They may prefer to gaze at light or may avoid looking at it. Some children with blindness do not blink to bright light, while others may poke their eyes for self-stimulation.

Mobility:

When children cannot see clearly, their ability to collect information about the environment is affected and hence they will be very hesitant to move about and development of walking will also be affected. They will need to use their hands and feet to explore the environment, to locate directions and to avoid obstacles. Other sensory input, e.g. sound, smell, vestibular and proprioceptive sensation will be employed too.

Hand Function:

VI will lead to poor eye-hand coordination which affects fine motor development. These children often have to rely on other senses, including auditory, tactile, vestibular, proprioceptive, olfactory and gustatory, for information and learning. Children with VI often exhibit tactile defensiveness and fear of movement, which further hinder their activities in daily living.

Language and communication:

VI affects language development in infants and young children. The children are less able to see their parents’ faces and mouths to reciprocate during communication, and there is poorer perception of non-verbal communication cues including facial expressions and use of gestures. Due to the lack of sense of security, they may be passive in communication, which can affect the early parent-child bonding and social interaction. Children with significant VI are likely to have language delay because it is harder for them to understand words and concepts. Experiential learning and multi-sensory guidance can facilitate enhancement of language and communication skills.

Cognitive and psychosocial development:

Young children with VI are less active in exploring the immediate environment, which can adversely affect their learning and cognitive development. Concepts commonly learnt through visual experience are accessed via their other senses such as hearing, taste and touch. Despite a general tendency of delayed cognitive development in the early stages, individuals with VI show a range of intellectual abilities. Some develop average intellectual abilities while others develop specific cognitive strengths and weaknesses. On psychosocial development, children with VI are at higher risk of impaired early interactions with their parents, affecting the later establishment of attachment and the sense of security. In peer interaction, children with VI have more difficulty in understanding gestures and facial expressions, receiving adequate feedback, and in using visual cues to assist them in interpersonal relationships.

According to World Health Organization (WHO), the prevalence of blindness (WHO defined blindness as a corrected VA of less than 6/120, which is equivalent to severe low vision and blindness in Hong Kong) in high-income countries with low under-five mortality rates is around 0.3 per 1000 children. In Hong Kong, according to the Central Registry for Rehabilitation, there were 296 voluntary registrants with VI aged from 0 to 14 years old, as at 30 September 2015. At Child Assessment Service, there are about 30-40 new cases of significant VI every year.

Different causes of VI can be classified according to the anatomical site affected. They are broadly divided into two groups, with conditions that affect the structure of the eye, such as cataract, glaucoma, retinopathy and albinism; and those that affect area(s) of the brain that are responsible for processing and interpreting vision, such as brain injury as a result of asphyxia, trauma or infection.

Other disabilities may co-exist with VI, depending on the nature and cause of the VI. These include developmental delay, intellectual disability, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, hearing impairment and behavioural and emotional problems.

Early identification and treatment, as well as genetic counseling for inherited diseases such as albinism and retinitis pigmentosa are important in the management of VI. Treatment may be needed for some medical conditions. These include surgery for cataract and laser therapy for retinal problems of prematurity. Corrective lens and optical aids will help to maximize the use of residual vision.

Training can help to improve the development of children with VI. Through a multi-sensory approach, clear verbal guidance by adults and encouragement of active exploration by the child, they are guided in concepts development such as object permanence and categorization of objects and ideas, in language use, and in becoming independent in self-care and mobility.

Children with VI have a wide range of educational needs including training of listening skills, tactile discrimination, orientation and mobility, literacy and social adaptation.

Pre-school children with VI can be supported by the Early Intervention Program (EIP) of the Ebenezer School & Home for the Visually Impaired. They may also receive training at Early Education and Training Centres, Integrated Programmes in Kindergarten-cum-Child Care Centre or Special Child Care Centres, according to their individual training needs. For children with moderate low vision or worse, they may receive enrollment and training at Ebenezer Child Care Centre.

School aged children in mainstream settings can apply for special needs support from the Education Bureau, including through the Ebenezer School resource support program for children with VI (for those with moderate low vision or worse). Adapted curriculum, individualized educational plans and assistive technologies, supported by specially trained teachers (in the use of Braille, low vision aids, orientation and mobility) are essential. Physical accommodations to enable these children to be seated for effective learning in the classroom and to move around independently and safely are necessary. The student’s participation in class, sports, leisure and extra-curricular activities should be encouraged and peer acceptance needs to be promoted, so as to facilitate and enhance the learning and development of the child.

For children with moderate low vision or worse, special schools that provide structured programs are available. These include Ebenezer School and Ebenezer New Hope School.

Outlook for these children’s visual capacity depends on the underlying cause of visual loss and the degree of impairment or injury to the visual system. VI due to ocular causes such as cataract and glaucoma can be improved if treated early, and those caused by an injury to the visual centre of the brain may also show improvement over time. In contrast, degenerative diseases may gradually lead to deterioration of vision, such as the progressive constriction of the visual field in retinitis pigmentosa.

Unemployment rate continues to be high for individuals with VI, partly due to inadequate support from employers and society as a whole, and partly due to unavailability of adaptive equipment to facilitate their participation. With advancement in technology such as speech output computer applications, portable electronic braillers and print-enlarging devices, it is envisioned that broadened employment opportunities will be available to persons with VI in the coming future.

  • Holbrook, M. C. (1996). Children with Visual Impairments – A Parents’ Guide. Woodbine House, Inc.

儿童体能智力测验服务主页
健康资讯

Visual Impairment视障

视障是指视觉功能受到一定程度的损害,患者因为视觉敏锐度降低或视野受损,以致无法达到正常视力,因而影响他们的日常生活。视障会按患者视力较佳眼睛的视觉敏锐度及视野受损情况而分类,但两者的定义和分类会因应情况不同而有所差异。在香港,视障的定义是参照「香港康复计划方案2007」而订定:

  1. 完全失明:没有视觉功能,即对光线没有感觉。
  2. 低视能(按视力较佳的眼睛戴上矫正眼镜后的视觉功能计算,可分为三个程度):
    • 严重低视能 — 视觉敏锐度为6∕120或更差,或视野范围缩窄至20度或以下;
    • 中度低视能 — 视觉敏锐度为6∕60或更差,但未达6∕120;
    • 轻度低视能 — 视觉敏锐度为6∕18或更差,但未达6∕60。

(备注:视觉敏锐度6∕60,代表正常视力者在60米距离能看见的物件,患者则需在6米或更近距离才能看见。)

患有视障的儿童无论看远或近的物件时都会感到模糊不清,也难以清楚看见别人的身体和面孔,所以他们与人缺乏眼神接触,平时也较少面部表情和身体语言。由于视力模糊,有时连在眼前出现较大或移动的玩具也不感兴趣,或要将物件放在眼前极近距离观察。他们对于强光有不同反应,可能特别注视,亦可能会因感到不适而逃避。而失明的儿童,甚至对强光的照射也不会眨眼作反应,或会经常用手指插眼睛,以得到感官上的刺激。

走动能力:

由于视觉的障碍,孩子看不清, 甚至看不见周围的环境,所以他们在空间移动时,会显得较为犹疑,也较难学会走路。他们走动时,往往需用双手或脚來探索,以分辨方向及避开障碍物。他们甚至会透过听觉、嗅觉、前庭及本体感来认清所处的环境。

手部功能:

视觉的障碍直接影响手眼协调,以致小肌肉发展也较慢。孩子往往需靠听觉、触觉、前庭、本体感、嗅觉及味觉等来获得讯息及学习。他们往往有害怕触摸及走动的情况,以致影响他们进行日常活动。

语言沟通:

视障也会影响孩子的语言发展。视障令孩子未能清楚注视父母的面部表情及嘴形,因而阻碍了孩子与父母的眼神交流及其他非语言沟通,例如面部表情及身体语言的运用。由于对环境欠缺安全感,他们的沟通亦会较为被动,影响了早期的亲子关系和社交互动。患有视障的儿童因为较难掌握词汇及其概念,他们通常有语言发展迟缓的情况。适当的体验学习及多感官引导,有助提升他们的语言沟通能力。

认知及社交发展:

患有视障的幼儿较少主动探索周围环境,因此影响了他们的学习及认知发展。一些需要透过视觉观察学习的东西,他们则须透过视觉以外的其他感官(例如听觉、味觉、触觉)去接触及认识。纵使早期认知发展一般较迟缓,患有视障的儿童并不一定有智力障碍,部分儿童仍可达一般人的智力水平或发展出个别的强弱项。至于社交发展方面,他们容易因为视障的问题而影响了早期与父母的互动经验,以致影响到人际关系及安全感的建立。与朋辈相处时,他们亦较难透过观察来明白人际间非语言的沟通讯息,接收对方的回应,藉此调节自己与人的互动模式。

根据世界卫生组织资料显示,在已发展国家当中,每10,000名儿童当中,约有3名属失明(世界卫生组织将视觉敏锐度6∕120或更差分类为失明)。香港方面,根据「康复服务中央档案室」统计报告,截至2015年9月份,本港有296名15岁以下的儿童自愿登记为视障人士。另外,根据卫生署辖下儿童体能智力测验服务的资料显示,每年约有30至40名视障新症个案。

引致视障的各种原因,按照受影响的部位大致分为两类:

  1. 眼部结构性疾病,例如白内障、青光眼、视网膜病变和白化病;
  2. 脑部受损,例如因缺氧、创伤、细菌或病毒感染而影响了脑部负责分析影像的区域。

视乎引致视障的不同原因,儿童有可能会兼患其他发展障碍,例如发展迟缓或智力障碍、脑麻痹、脑痫症、弱听及情绪行为问题。

及早识别和安排治疗,对视障患者非常重要。部分眼疾问题,可以透过手术来改善视力,例如白内障手术、视网膜病变的激光治疗等。另外,矫视镜片和光学辅助工具,亦可协助视障患者充分运用其剩余视力。此外,因遗传病而引起的视障问题,如白化病或色素性视网膜炎等,亦需接受遗传辅导服务,包括风险评估、生育抉择等讨论。

除了医疗方法外,亦可透过训练以协助患有视障儿童的发展。导师会透过多感官学习的方式、鼓励主动探索的活动和清晰的口头指示,来教导幼儿学前概念(如物件恒存、物件归类等)及语言的运用,并帮助他们提高自我照顾及活动能力。

患有视障的儿童在教育上有多方面的需要,包括聆听技巧、触觉辨别、定向与行动、读写能力和社会适应。

学前期:

患有视障的学前儿童,可接受心光学校所提供的视障幼儿教育支援服务的训练。另外,社会福利署开办的早期教育及训练中心、幼儿中心兼收弱能儿童计划或特殊幼儿中心亦会为患有视障的儿童提供全面的训练。若儿童的视障程度较为严重,则可能需要入读心光幼儿中心。

学龄期:

患有视障并于主流学校就读的学龄儿童,可向教育局申请支援服务,其中包括心光学校的到校支援计划,以帮助中度低视能或更弱的儿童融入主流学校的生活。学校内应有适当设施,让儿童能在课室内有效地学习,并可独自及安全地走动。此外,特别的课程设计、个别学习计划、辅助用具,及曾接受有关培训(包括点字运用、低视力辅助工具、定向与行动方面)的老师都非常重要。

最后,朋辈接纳所带来的鼓励,以及学生在课室、运动、康乐和课外活动的參与,对儿童的有效学习和正常发展都有一定帮助。

至于患有中度低视能或更弱的儿童,可能需要入读具备系统化课程的特殊学校,包括心光学校和心光恩望学校。

儿童日后的视力,要视乎其视力受损的成因以及视觉系统受损的程度而定。因白内障和青光眼等眼部问题所引致的视障,如及早接受治疗,可令视觉功能有所改善。若视障是由脑部受损所引致,则可透过持续训练以提升其视觉功能。相反,因退化性疾病导致的视障,可能使视力日渐衰退,例如色素性视网膜炎会使视野不断收窄。

就业方面,过去视障患者的失业率一直偏高,部分原因是雇主和社会大众的支持不足,部分则因为工作环境未有提供适当的辅助工具。然而,随着科技的发展,例如设有语音输出的电脑、手提电子点字机和放大晒印器材的普及化,将有助提高视障患者的就业机会。

  • Holbrook, M. C. (1996). Children with Visual Impairments – A Parents’ Guide. Woodbine House, Inc.